Friend

I wanted

Someone to lie beside me whilst peering up at the universe

watch a satellite flash by

get close for warmth

Someone to hug, just because I love them

Someone who will hold me

and keep me together

when I am breaking apart

Someone who will cling to me

just because they want to

be with me

Someone to cuddle

just because we want to feel loved

Is this a friend? I wanted it to be so

Perhaps in this day and age,

it is only a romantic partner

 

I need physical affection

Like I need food

I hunger for it

Not kisses, not sex, not romantics

just love.

 

Leave a Reply

